Vita - Ylva Pihlström

2019 — Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UNM
2021 — Associate Chair for Undergraduate Affairs, Physics and Astronomy, UNM
2007 — Adjunct Astronomer, NRAO
2021 — 2023 Associate Director, Center for Advanced Research Computing, UNM
2016 — 2023 Associate Director of the Center for Astrophysical Research and Technology, UNM
2016 — 2023 Director UNM Campus Observatory
2011 — 2019 Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UNM
2009 — 2013 Head of User Program, The Long Wavelength Array, UNM
2005 — 2011 Assistant Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UNM
2004 — 2005 Postdoctoral researcher, OVRO group, Caltech
2001 — 2004 Postdoctoral researcher, NRAO Socorro

2001 Ph.D. in Radio and Space Science, Chalmers University of Technology.
Thesis: Radio Studies of Circumnuclear Gas in Active Galaxies
1996 M.Sc. in Electrical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology.
Thesis: Transmission Measurements on a Waveguide and a Coupler Fabricated on InP

American Astronomical Society (AAS)
American Physical Society (APS)
European Astronomical Society (EAS)
International Astronomical Union (IAU)
International Union of Radio Science (URSI)
Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society

2023-25 Long Wavelength Array Technology Upgrades, NASA
2022-24 Infrared circumstellar shell emission of Galactic AGB stars: Mass-loss rates,
luminosities and distances, NASA
2021-23 Bulge symmetry or not? The hidden dynamics of the Far Side, ALMA SOS
2018-21 Science Opportunities Unique to the LWA, NSF
2018-20 Do SiO v=3 lines or line ratios uniquely trace circumstellar shell conditions?, NRAO
2017-18 Linking Solar Wind Origins with Acceleration Mechanisms, NASA
2017-19 The Bulge Asymmetries and Dynamic Evolution (BAaDE) Maser Survey
(Deriving velocities), NRAO
2017-18 Estimating Distances to Dusty Stars, ADVANCE
2016-18 Raising the Bar: Radio Investigations of the Structure and Dynamics of the Galactic Bulge, NSF
2015-17 Coronal Heating and Solar Wind Acceleration, AFRL
2015-16 Bulge Asymmetries and Dynamical Evolution: CASA Pipeline, NRAO ALMA
2012-13 Characterizing the Sites of Cosmic Ray Acceleration, NASA
2011-14 Science with LWA1, NSF
2010-13 Gamma-ray Burst Progenitor and Emission Models, IGPP/LANL
2010-11 A New Tracer for Identifying the Sites of Hadronic Cosmic Ray Acceleration, NASA
2008-09 VLBA parallax OH and H2O maser studies of water fountain PPNe, NRAO
2007-11 The Long Wavelength Array - Research, Development and Construction, ONR

2023 NRAO Program Review Committee (Chair)
2021- SOC NRAO Synthesis Imaging Workshop
2021-2023 Co-chair IAU Symposium 380
2021 ALMA Development Technical Review committee
2019-2020 NSF NRAO Annual Review committee
2018-2020 NRAO Jansky Fellowship committee
2016-2023 MIT Haystack Visiting Committee (Chair 2023)
2016-17 SOC IAU Symposium 336
2016 NSF Advisory Board LBO
2012-13 SOC IAU Symposium 303
2010-12 Executive Committee of the US SKA Consortium
2008 Organizer Low Frequency Software Workshop
2007-10 NRAO Jansky postdoctoral fellowship committee
2006 Organizing Committee 2006 Synthesis Imaging Workshop
2001- Since 2001 I have refereed numerous papers for ApJ, AJ, A&A, MNRAS, and PASJ.
I have served on numerous NSF, NASA, NRAO and ALMA review panels.

Dustin Edgeman (Ph.D. in progress), Rachel Weller (Ph.D. in progress), Rajorshi Bhattacharya (Ph.D. in progress), Brandon Medina (Ph.D. 2022), Sara Jeffreys (graduate research 2021), Bahram Saba (graduate research 2021), Megan Lewis (Ph.D. 2021), Samantha Wallace (Ph.D. 2020), Michael Stroh (Ph.D. 2019), Eddie Hilburn (M.S. 2018), Bridget C. McEwen (Ph.D. 2016), Robert Mesler (Ph.D. 2013), Braeden Fields (2023-), Alex Craig (2023-), Stephanie Hansen (2022-23), Damen Reyes (2022), Jason Weisgerber (2021-22), Patrick Latimer (2017-19), Kylar Greene (2018-19), Sanja Mahobia (2018-2020), Chris Gallagher (2017), Cameron Trapp (2015-16), Isaiah Santistevan (2014-16), Eric Jaderlund (2015-16), Robert Edmonds (2005-07), David Martin (2009), Anthony Ortiz (2009), Fonda Day (2008-13), Stefanie Gallegos (2010), Thuso Simon (2006-07), Buckner Creel (2006-07)