n Science at Low Frequencies II, ABQ, Dec. 2-5, 2015




Science at Low Frequencies II

Albuquerque, NM - Wednesday December 2 - Friday December 4, 2015

Workshop Location & Date

The University of New Mexico is organizing an international meeting highlighting recent scientific discoveries at low frequencies. The meeting will take place in Albuquerque, New Mexico at the Phillips Technology Institute building on Alamo Road, conveniently located just minutes from the Albuquerque Airport and UNM. The meeting will run from December 2 (Wednesday) through December 4 (Friday), with an optional tour of the new LWA station on the Sevilleta Wildlife Refuge on Saturday. This workshop follows a similar format to the 2014 meeting in Tempe, Arizona. This workshop will precede the MWA and Canadian SKA meetings in Toronto the following week.

Scientific Rationale

There are a large number of new low-frequency radio telescopes including the MWA, PAPER, LOFAR, LWA, VLA/VLITE, GMRT, CHIME, and 21CMA. These instruments are producing a wealth of scientific results on topics ranging from planetary magnetospheres to cosmic dawn. Featured topics will include preliminary results pertaining to the search for redshifted 21 cm signatures from the cosmological epoch of reionization and Dark Ages, large sky surveys of the Galaxy and extragalactic sky, pulsars and transients, and space weather and solar imaging. This meeting is meant to provide a forum to share results as well as software and analysis techniques.


This meeting is sponsored by the University of New Mexico and the National Radio Astronomy Observatory.

Webpage: http://lwa.phys.unm.edu/abq2015/index.html

Registration (closed)

List of abstracts

Program/Links to presentations

Conference Photos

List of registered participants: http://lwa.phys.unm.edu/abq2015/participants.html

Logistics: http://lwa.phys.unm.edu/abq2015/logistics.html

Conference Poster

Important Dates

  • April 22, 2015: First announcement
  • July 2, 2015: Second announcement, with details on logistics, costs, and registration
  • Aug. 21, 2015: Third announcement with invited speakers, scheme of scientific program available (just topic of the various sessions)
  • Nov. 1, 2015: End of Registration
  • Nov. 15, 2015: Final announcement with scientific program of the meeting
  • Dec. 2, 2015: Meeting begins

Organizing Committees

    • Chris Carilli (NRAO)
    • K. Dwarakanath (RRI)
    • George Heald (ASTRON/Groningen)
    • Melanie Johnston-Hollitt (VUW/MWA)
    • Namir Kassim (NRL)
    • Scott Ransom (NRAO)
    • Anna Scaife (Manchester)
    • Frank Schinzel (UNM)
    • Greg Taylor (UNM, chair)
    • Cathryn Trott (ICRAR/Curtin)

    • Ken Obenberger (UNM/AFRL)
    • Frank Schinzel (UNM)
    • Kevin Stovall (UNM)
    • Greg Taylor (UNM, chair)